With the addition of five languages, Rajya Sabha MPs can speak in 22 Indian language

With the addition of five more language interpretation in Rajya Sabha, 22 Indian languages will be spoken by the MP’s in the upper house as announced by the Rajya Sabha Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu on Wednesday.

The five additional languages added up includes Kashmiri, Santhali, Sindhi, Dogri and Konkani. The Upper house has early interpretation of languages like Bengali, Gujarati, Urdu, Tamil, Hindi, Kannada, Assamese, Marathi and Oriya.

Five additional languages will be interpreted as soon the interpreter gets the prior notice. However, there may be problems at the initial level as translators may be attuned to the speed and velocity of the speaker.

Subramanian Swamy said the effort should also be made to add Sanskrit language in the vocabulary.

While mentioning about the addition of language, Naidu also mention that for the first time in 66 years, Rajya Sabha has signed a pact with a parliamentary institution of a foreign nation while entering in a MoU with the senate of Rawanda.

Earlier, only Lok Sabha enter into such kind of agreements with the foreign parliamentary institutions.

Related posts

Leave a Comment