sc2Featured National 

Prevent Kashmiris’ Boycott, Attacks: Top Court To States After Pulwama

On  Friday the Prime Minister has directed  10 states and the centre to ensure Kashmiris living across the country do not face a social boycott, harassment or attacks, days after the Pulwama terror attack.

The 10 states includes  Jammu and Kashmir, Uttarakhand, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Meghalaya, Chhattisgarh, West Bengal, Punjab and Maharashtra.

A bench headed by Chief Justice of India Ranjan Gogoi said the police officers who were appointed as nodal officers to deal with incidents of mob lynching will now be responsible to deal with cases of alleged assault on Kashmiris.

The court also told the Home Ministry to give wide publicity of the nodal officers’ contact details so that those who need help can approach them easily.

“The chief secretaries, the DGPs and the Delhi Police Commissioner are also directed to take prompt and necessary action to prevent incidents of threat, assault, the social boycott against Kashmiris and other minorities,” said the bench

Kashmiri | National News

“We came to the Supreme Court after Kashmiri students were attacked in universities. We hope the court order will prevent any further incidents,” the petitioner said.

The government has said those who will disturb the peace of the country or will spread rumour will face severe punishment.

Helplines also have been launched by the police in several states. The Central Reserve Police Force, which lost over 40 of its soldiers in the terror strike, has asked those who need help to contact them via a helpline.

The Supreme Court had also issued directions to heads of educational institutions and to take steps to protect the lives of Kashmiris.

Related posts

Leave a Comment