PM modi UN Award- truecolumnInternational 

PM Modi, Cochin Airport selected for UN’s Champions of the Earth award

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Cochin airport were selected for the prestigious UN’s Champions of the Earth award on Wednesday. French President Emmanuel Macron will also among the award recipient.

According to UN, PM Modi and Emmanuel Macron were recognized with the for the policy leadership category for the “pioneering work in championing the international solar Alliance and promoting new areas of levels of cooperation on environmental action”.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi is honoured with the Champions of the Earth award for his work to use single-use plastic in India by 2022 and Emmanuel Macron for the commendable work in environment global pact.

The Cochin International Airport gets the recognition as the Champions of the earth award in the entrepreneurial vision field and for the Leadership in the use of sustainable energy.

UN in a statement said that, “Cochin is showing the world that our ever-expanding network of global movement doesn’t have to harm the environment. As the pace of society continues to increase, the world’s first fully solar-powered airport is proof positive that green business is good business “.

The other recipient of UN award includes indigenous activist Joan Carling for her work “as one of the world’s most prominent defenders of environmental and indigenous rights”.

PM Modi- emmanuel macron- International news- Truecolumn
PM Modi – Eemmanuel Macron- International News – Truecolumn

Food company Beyond meat and impossible meat who is known for making plant-based substitutes of meat and dairy products is honoured for their transforming work while china’s Zhejiang’s Green Rural revival programme was selected for revolutionizing heavily polluted areas of rivers and stream in east China.

The UN Champion of the Earth award is hosted by the Bollywood actress and UN environmental goodwill ambassador Dia Mirza and actor Alec Baldwin.

The Award was started 13 years back and bring together all the eminent leaders from government, civil society, and private sector and recognize them for their outstanding work for the Environment. The honour is given for the category of policy, business, civil society, and science.







Related posts

Leave a Comment