NITI Aayog meet: PM Modi asks states to push growth

At NITI Aayog meeting which was held yesterday, Prime Minister Narendra Modi urged the states to take ‘many more steps’ to push the country’s economic growth further. Modi also called for the debate for conducting Lok Sabha and state assembly’s elections together claiming that it would help in the financial savings while Ministers from different states put forward their respective issue in front of the top officials.

Keeping in mind the general elections which are not less than a year far away, the NITI Aayog meeting chaired by the PM Modi stressed upon the country’s growth from single-digits to double-digits for which Modi said, “The challenge now is to take this growth rate to double digits, for which many more important steps have to be taken”.

States like Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, Kerala and West Bengal stressed for their tax-devolution share that will shrink in the 15th Finance Commission if relies on the 2011 census rather than the 1971 census.

The issue for the loan waiver scheme was raised by the states like Kerala, Andhra Pradesh and Karnataka who sought 50% support from the centre to implement the scheme. States like Bihar and Andhra Pradesh asked for the special-status category although each one of them have given the long-speech against such differentiations.

On the issue of environment, Modi directed to all the government officials to use the LED bulbs in their offices, residences and street lights. He also asked the chief ministers of Sikkim, Gujarat, Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, West Bengal and Bihar to work as a team for the coordinated policy approach on agriculture and MNERGA.

NITI Aayog is the highest-policy making body of the governing council of the government think tank headed by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi. The council constitutes the union ministers and chief ministers of all states besides the top officials of the Aayog. The last meeting was attended by the ministers of all the states except Delhi, Goa, Odisha, Manipur, Tripura, Mizoram, Sikkim and Jammu and Kashmir.


Related posts

Leave a Comment