“BJP celebrates its hollow victory, mocks constitution”, Rahul’s takes on BS Yeddyurappa oath as a CM

After a high-rated drama last night outside the Supreme Court of Karnataka, the three-bench judge allowed the BJP to form the government in the state. However, wider level of protest and anger is seen by the opposition parties, congress and JD (S) calling the sworn-in ceremony of the new elected CM as unconstitutional.

Congress leader Rahul Gandhi said, “The BJP’s irritational insistence that it will form a govt. in Karnataka, even though it clearly doesn’t have the numbers, is to make a mockery of our constitution. This morning, while the BJP’s celebrates its hollow victory, India will mourn the defeat of democracy”.

Amid big drama last night outside the Raj Bhavan, the three-bench judge including A K Sikri, SA Bobde and Ashok Bhushan have supported the letter of support submitted by BJP claiming the majority from MLA’s. The Supreme Court said that it won’t halt the sworn-in process of new CM Yeddyurappa, but it will look in the outcome of the petition on Friday.

The high dignitaries of BJP have attended the sworn in ceremony of BS Yeddyurappa on Thursday at 9am including Dharmendra Pradhan, JP Nadda and Ananth Kumar. However, the party chief PM Narendra Modi and Amit Shah won’t be able to attend it.

Celebrations were seen outside the BS Yeddyurappa house as well as outside Raj bhavan with guest arriving with bouquets, chairs placed on the winning carpets and hoardings congratulating the new CM on the way to Raj Bhavan and Governor Vajubhai Vala had administered the oath.

However, minutes after BS Yeddyurappa sworn-in as the new CM, Congress MLA and leaders gathered at the Mahatma Gandhi’s statue in Vidhan Soudha to protest against the swear-in ceremony. The protestor includes former CM Siddaramaiah, Ashok Gehlot, Ghulam Nabi Azad and other opposition leader.

Siddaramaiah said about BJP, “BJP has no respect for parliamentary democracy. If BS Yeddyurappa wants to prove majority, he has to present the list of 112 MLAs. Let him do that”.

However, 1600 policemen have been deployed on different areas including Raj bhavan and protesting sited to maintain law and order in the Karnataka.

Related posts

One Thought to ““BJP celebrates its hollow victory, mocks constitution”, Rahul’s takes on BS Yeddyurappa oath as a CM”

  1. […] the Karnataka Assembly election result on May 12, BJP wins by 112 seats leaving behind Congress with 78 seats and JD with 37 seats. After which, BS […]

Leave a Comment